Life after social media and the meandering thought stream of deep consciousness

Accidents

I once had a dream that I was falling asleep and couldn’t wake up. I got a phone call from my mother, telling me that she had a terrible dream. She asked if I was driving that day, and when I told her yes, she told me to be careful. It shook me, and I couldn’t get rid of the feeling that I was going to die in an automobile accident. The dream was over, but the feeling never left. Somewhere in the back of my mind, whenever that car veers into my lane or that truck slams on the brakes just a little too hard, somewhere I’m thinking “this is it, this was that dream”. I will be mulling the if’s/how’s/why’s/where’s and when’s until the day I die, and that’s a terrible feeling. I never let it get the best of me, but still, there it is, writhing in the back of my mind, hidden behind other terrible things, waiting for it’s chance to say “now?”. No, not now, maybe tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

