Life after social media and the meandering thought stream of deep consciousness

Coincidences

I don’t believe that everything happens for a reason. Maybe I used to; the idea of destiny is an appealing one. But I just don’t think it’s that simple. The universe is too full of chaos for that kind of clarity. To me, the reason we feel so strange when a coincidence happens is not because it was “meant to be”, rather, that it is a moment of clarity amidst a sea of confusion. That’s not to say it has no meaning just because it wasn’t destiny. I think that moreover it is a way of reminding ourselves not to look for meaning in how something happened, but to take the meaning from event itself. If I met the same person on 3 different continents purely by coincidence, why should I question how or why it happened? It’s a mundane and trivial thing to focus on, why not focus on the person themselves? I don’t need a destiny where our paths are intertwined together throughout time to know how I feel about someone. I shouldn’t feel like because of a series of coincidences that I should let that govern how I feel about a person. A person can be shitty on three different continents, too. They can also be awesome, but the fact that I bumped into them in so many strange circumstances is not why they are a good or bad person.

Leave a Reply

