Life after social media and the meandering thought stream of deep consciousness

The Hat Man

When I was around 7 years old I was startled awake from my sleep. I lay there paralyzed, looking directly into my mirror, which reflected back at the door on an angle at the foot of my bed. This is what I saw.


I didn’t draw that, yet it is exactly how I would have drawn it. I stared at this figure in the reflection of my mirror for what seemed like hours. Afraid to move, covered slightly by my blanket, I figured if I stayed still long enough, I would see it move. I didn’t, and so I mustered up the courage to spring up out of bed and look out the door. There was nothing there. I looked back in the mirror and there was nothing there either. It was gone and I have never had as visceral of paranormal experience since. The figure I saw was a form of what people call “Shadow People”, but further than that, I discovered today that I am one of literally thousands and thousands of people worldwide who, in the last 15 years, has been visited by “The Hat Man”. I’m not even making this shit up. There are support groups for people who have been visited and profoundly affected by The Hat Man. Have you seen him, too?

5 responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your Hat Man encounter. Are you quite sincere or just having fun with a cool picture for a blog post?

    August 24, 2010 at 7:20 PM

    • I am, indeed, being quite sincere. It’s the single event that triggered my interest and fascination in the paranormal.

      August 24, 2010 at 10:05 PM

  2. I don’t find that article to be interesting at all, as I’m an atheist.

    My icon is from the cover of the Criterion version of Lord Of The Flies. I always liked the way the boy was depicted. Such inner turmoil that only a child could have.

    August 27, 2010 at 10:52 AM

    • This is an article about someone who had an experience seeing a man very, very similar to yours:

      http://carm.org/religious-movements/wicca/my-involvement-occult

      It’s by a Christian, but I still thought you would find it intriguing. I also love the Lord of the Flies, it is a great picture of the degeneracy of human society from its civilized state with God in the beginning.

      Take good care.

      August 27, 2010 at 9:35 PM

Leave a Reply

