Life after social media and the meandering thought stream of deep consciousness

Bar DJ’s

This past weekend, I had the unfortunate chance to go to a terrible bar. It was one of those birthday’s where you know you don’t want to go where the party is planned, and everyone else knows you don’t want to be there either, but because it’s a loved one’s birthday, you feel obliged to attend. It wasn’t head-smashing-wall bad, but it was at the very least face-palm bad. I will never understand people who actually like the music played at some of these bars. We went up to the DJ booth at one point to see what kind of music he had, and almost everything in his playlist was not just bad, but there were a lot of songs that I almost felt bad for him having. It was like looking through someone’s old record collection, seeing all the bands that they used to think were great, but now they’re just embarrassed about having…except this DJ wasn’t embarrassed. It’s okay, I felt bad enough for both of us. It got me wondering; were all bar DJ’s this bad in, say, the 80’s? Or were things like they are now, where only the big, “popular” bars play garbage? I mean, the rise of the DJ in the latter part of the last century is completely based around playing pop music, but surely the shift from pop to good happened before my generation…didn’t it? It’s definitely a had-to-be-there-to-know type of question, but I’m sure the answer would vary based on who you ask; I mean, there are people who, 20 years from now, will talk about how the music of 2030 sucks because there isn’t anything like The Black Eyed Peas (at least, I can only hope. pray with me my children). This is serious business, and it’s racking my brain.

Leave a Reply

