Life after social media and the meandering thought stream of deep consciousness

Begin.

I’ve always thought of the blog as a redundant part of the internet. Years ago, having a blog meant you had to have something to write about, but it seemed to me that anyone who did have anything worthwhile to say was already being published elsewhere; everything else just seemed like a flotsam of indie kids writing about their mundane and ironic lives. I know, I shouldn’t pigeonhole an entire format just because there were some shitty blogs out there, but I will anyways because your blog sucked and someone needs to tell you it. In the past few years, social media has exploded and with it has come a shitstorm of soulless writing and an outlet for indie kids to tweet about how much they hate twitter. All of sudden it has become cool to talk about your daily routine, despite the fact that none of these people would care to listen to someone yammer on about what they ate for lunch or when they took a shit (an irony the indie kids failed to pick up on). But, maybe i’m being a bit harsh; there are many quality, well-established publications that simply use these services to keep their readers up-to-date on their newest articles. For that reason, I never fully wrote off blogs and their counterparts. There is a place for them and they have their use, and maybe that’s partly why I have created this blog. After deleting my Facebook, I realized that while I didn’t miss all the bullshit that went along with having an account, I did miss the fact that I could tell people what was on my mind. I never did like the format of notes or doing a status update; I usually can’t fit my thoughts into such a short paragraph, and trying to do so just felt like censoring myself. So here I am. I’m here because I have things to say. I’m here because I think some of you will want to hear them. I’m here for a lot of reasons, but mostly, more than anything, I’m here because i’m fucking bored. xo

-ty

One response

  1. Douja

    Haha I think blogging will be a good outlite for you, best of luck!!

    May 14, 2010 at 10:49 AM

Leave a Reply

